## Preface to the Proceedings of the 33rd European Congress of Arachnology, Greifswald, Germany, 5.–9. September 2022

Due to the pandemic, we had to postpone the congress that was supposed to take place in Greifswald during 2020. Unfortunately, 2021 was not much better, but we decided to hold the congress in a virtual format, focusing on junior arachnologists. Finally, this year we came together in Greifswald from Monday 5 to Friday 9 September 2022 and it was wonderful to meet so many of you. The direct exchange is necessary for all of us, but especially for Bachelor, Master and PhD students - they need the opportunity to present their research projects "live", exchange ideas and build their own networks. The 33<sup>rd</sup> European Congress of Arachnology was attended by 190 arachnologists from 39 countries. 157 participants were present in person, the virtual meeting was followed by 33 arachnologists. Four keynote lectures (Arie van der Mejden; Kesey Fowler-Finn; Elizabeth Jakob; Julien Pétillon), 99 oral contributions and 39 posters were presented, most of which were authored or co-authored by students. The scientific programme was divided into 12 sessions, two symposia (Arachnid Phylogeny; eDNA and Metabarcoding) and a workshop (Illegal Wildlife Trade). In addition, a "Widow spiders at the forefront" symposium was held on Sunday 4th, before the congress, attended by about 40 arachnologists from all over the world.



Our thanks go to all those who took part in this congress, sponsored students (AraGes; Laudier Histology, ESA) and made it a great meeting in a variety of ways.

Gabriele UHL & Peter MICHALIK and team

Not on the photograph: Henning Clausen, Massimo De Agró, Arthur Decae, Russell Garwood, Yen-Ting Huang, Anna-Christin Joel, Josefine Kreuz, Katrin Kunz, Shou-Wang Lin, Heiko Metzner, Bharat Parthasarathy, Edgardo Santiago-Rivera



Huang, Anna-Christin Joel, Josefine Kreuz, Katrin Kunz, Shou-Wang Lin, Heiko Metzner, Bharat Parthasarathy, Edgardo Santiago-Rivera 54 Peter Koomen, 55 ... 56 Domagoj Gajsko, 57 Igor Armiach Steinpress, 58 Alireza Zamani, 59 Kerstin Wulf und Heidi Land, 60 Jonas Wolff, 61 Philip Steinhoff, 62 Volker Framenau, 63 Klaus Birkhofer, 64 Mohammad Belal Talukder, 65 Christoph Muster, 66 Carsten Müller, 67 Peter Michalik, 68 Paul-Robin Franz, 69 Morgan Oberweiser, 70 Carolina Ortiz Movliav, 71 Gabriele Uhl, 72 Jens Runge, 73 Lara Lopardo, 74 Yael Lubin, 75 Monika Eberhard, 76 Christian Kropf, 84 Vladimíra Šoltysová, 85 Nathan Viel, 66 Carsten Müller, 67 Peter Michalik, 68 Paul-Robin Franz, 69 Morgan Oberweiser, 70 Carolina Ortiz Movliav, 71 Gabriele Uhl, 72 Jens Runge, 73 Lara Lopardo, 74 Yael Lubin, 75 Monika Eberhard, 76 Christian Kropf, 84 Vladimíra Šoltysová, 85 Nathan Viel, Andelić Dmitrović, 124 Janko Šet, 125 Rok Golobinek, 126 Emelie Steiger, 127 Carmen Noske, 128 Dante Poy, 129 Michael Schmitt, 130 Lenka Sentenská Not on the photograph: Henning Clausen, Massimo De Agro', Arthur Decae, Russell Garwood, Yen-Ting 111 Robert Bosmans, 112 Darko Cotoras, 113 Martin Ramirez, 114 Jörg Wunderlich, 115 Danilo Harms, 116 Jochen Martens, 117 Giuseppe Nicolosi, 118 Christian Bartel, 119 Miquel Arnedo, 120 Dora Hlebec, 121 Donard Geci, 122 Holger Frick, 123 Barbara Weißbach, 100Benjamin Schnerch, 101 Myles Nolan, 102 Nela Gloríková, 103 Maryia Tsiareshyna, 104 Monica Mowery, 105 Ming-yu Lee, 106 Fredrik Arvidsson, 107 Fuga Matsui, 108 Frederik Hendrickx, 109 Bram Vanthournout, 110 Simona Kralj-Fišer 86 frat Gavish-Regev, 87 Yoram Zvik, 88 Zeana Ganem, 89 Stefan Prost, 90 Vladislav Ivanov, 91 Grzegorz Krawczuk, 92 Kirill Eskov, 93 Henrik Krehenwinkel, 94 Trine Bilde, 95 Ondřej Machač, 96 Lucas Baumgart, 97 Julien Pétillon, 98 Milan Rezáč, 99 Magret Dupérré, 40 Elena Piano, 41 Marco Meyer, 42 Keith Lions, 43 Marco Isaia, 44 Filippo Milano, 45 Dongyoung Kim, 46 Christian Wirkner, 47 Yuri Simone, 48 Stano Pekar, 49 Sven Weber, 50 Alexandr Vasiliev, 51 Peter Gajdoš, 52 El Aziz Djoudi, 53 Jan Raška 26 Silvia Adrián Serrano, 27 Jeremy Miller, 28 Vardit Makover, 29 Kasey Fowler-Finn, 30 Beth Jakob, 31 Paul Selden, 32 Wolfgang Nentwig, 33 Anja Melcher, 34 Yannis Schöneberg, 35 Peter Jaeger, 36 Yuri Marusik, 37 David Ortiz, 38 Pavol Purgat, 39 Nadine 1 Gonzalo Giribet, 2 Dimitar Dimitrov, 3 Narmin Beydizada, 4 Susan Kennedy, 5 Noushig Zarikian, 6 Amelia Joyce Philip, 7 Anui Sanz la Para, 8 Jutta Schneider, 9 Karin Urfer, 10 Eva Liznarova, 11 Ľudmila Černecká, 12 Charlotte Hopfe, 13 Miriam Frutiger, 14 Marc Domènech, 15 Christoph Hörweg, 16 Konrad Wišniewski, 17 Kardelen Özgün Uludag, 18 Jithin Johnson, 19 Jennifer Apple, 20 Maciej Bartos, 21 Arie van der Meijden, 22 Simon Connolly, 23 Prashant Sharma, 24 Martina Pavlek, 25 Adrià Bellvert,

## **ZOBODAT - www.zobodat.at**

Zoologisch-Botanische Datenbank/Zoological-Botanical Database

Digitale Literatur/Digital Literature

Zeitschrift/Journal: Arachnologische Mitteilungen

Jahr/Year: 2023

Band/Volume: 66

Autor(en)/Author(s): Uhl Gabriele, Michalik Peter

Artikel/Article: Preface to the Proceedings of the 33rd European Congress of Arachnology, Greifswald, Germany, 5.–9. September 2022 I-II